Ministry of Education

School Business Support Branch 19th Floor, Mowat Block 900 Bay Street Toronto ON M7A 1L2 Ministère de l'Éducation

Direction du soutien aux activités scolaires 19^e étage, Édifice Mowat 900, rue Bay Toronto ON M7A 1L2



2016: SB04

| MEMORANDUM TO: | Senior Business Officials |
|----------------|---|
| FROM: | Cheri Hayward Director School Business Support Branch |
| DATE: | February 12, 2016 |
| SUBJECT: | Student Transportation Competitive Procurement Review Report |

Further to Deputy Minister Zegarac's memorandum of January 28, 2016, I am writing to provide additional information on the ministry's support to the sector in addressing opportunities identified in the *Student Transportation Competitive Procurement Review (STCPR) Report.*

I would like to thank all school boards and consortia for the time and effort invested in participating in this review.

The ministry believes that this report provides school boards and consortia a valuable resource that identifies a number of opportunities for improvements that can be realized through cross-sector collaboration.

The ministry is supporting school boards and operators in proceeding with a threephased approach to collaboratively review and address, where appropriate, the opportunities detailed in the report:

- Phase 1 to review and address opportunities for standardization.
- Phase 2 to review and address more complex opportunities identified in the report that may require extensive consultation, analysis, and likely legal and/or procurement advice.
- Phase 3 to consider the establishment of formalized structures to support opportunities to improve industry relationships.

For Phase 1, the STCPR Advisory Committee has been established to provide a dedicated forum for the school board sector and industry representatives to exchange ideas to address the standardization opportunities identified in the STCPR Report. The Committee is composed of the following members:

- Dean Currie, Effectiveness & Efficiency Advisory Committee Coordinator, Council of Ontario School Business Officials (Chair)
- Representatives of the Ontario Association of School Business Officials (OSABO) Transportation Committee:
 - Maureen Cosyn Heath, Southwestern Ontario Student Transportation Services
 - Wendy Dobson, Service de transport de Wellington Dufferin Student Transportation Services
 - Lori Powell, Niagara Student Transportation Services
 - Renée Boucher, Sudbury Student Services Consortium de services aux élèves de Sudbury
 - David Frier, Huron Perth Student Transportation Services (designated alternate member)
- Representatives of the Ontario School Bus Association (OSBA)
 - Leslie Cross, Stock Transportation Ltd.
 - Chris Harwood, Student Transportation Canada
 - Jim Switzer, Switzer-Carty Transportation Inc. (designated alternate member)
- Representatives of the Independent School Bus Operators Association (ISBOA)
 - Greg Hammond, Hammond Transportation
 - Frank Healy, Healy Transportation
 - Eric Hochgeschurz, Premier Bus Lines (designated alternate member)
- Wayne McNally (Special Advisor)
- Nancy Huynh, Senior Policy Coordinator, Ministry of Education (Assistant to the Chair)

The first meeting will be held on Thursday, February 18, 2016 to kick off the work of the Committee.

It is expected that by early summer the OASBO Transportation Committee will release a leading practices document on standardization that takes into consideration input from all Advisory Committee Members.

The ministry expects to provide additional information on Phase 2 strategies once the leading practices document has been released.

If you have any questions or comments please contact Sandy Chan, Manager, Transportation and Cooperative Services at (416) 325-2464, or <u>sandy.chan@ontario.ca</u>.

Original signed by:

Cheri Hayward Director School Business Support Branch

cc: Transportation Managers Jesse Pereira, Chair, OASBO Supply Chain Management Committee Leslie Cross, President, OSBA Steve Hull, President, ISBOA Wayne McNally Dean Currie