

Ministry of Education Ministère de l'Éducation

Education Labour and Finance

Division

Division des relations de travail et du financement en matière d'éducation

315 Front Street West 315, rue Front Ouest

11th Floor

Toronto ON M7A 0B8 Toronto (Ontario) M7A 0B8

11^e étage

2023: B10

Date: August 25, 2023

Memorandum To: Directors of Education

Secretary/Treasurers of School Authorities

From: Andrew Davis

Assistant Deputy Minister

Education Labour and Finance Division

Yael Ginsler

Assistant Deputy Minister
Student Achievement Division

Roxanne Hotte

Assistant Deputy Minister

French-Language Teaching, Learning and Achievement Division

Subject: Application of Early Reading Screening components of PPM

168 for 2023-24

The purpose of this memorandum is to provide further direction on the application of the early reading screening ("ERS") components of Policy/Program Memorandum 168 ("PPM 168") for the 2023-2024 school year. PPM 168 is effective September 1, 2023.

One of the requirements of PPM 168 is that school boards must have all students in Year 2 of Kindergarten through Grade 2 screened for early reading. Although the government does not believe that this requirement necessarily conflicts with any of the central collective agreement entitlements, all parties are committed to continuing with good faith

discussions on this important matter at the central bargaining table. Consequently, this memo confirms that the ERS elements of PPM 168 will not be required. Teachers may choose to administer those components on a voluntary basis until September 1, 2024. Further information will be provided upon conclusion of central negotiations.

The government remains committed to the screening recommendation of the Ontario Human Rights Commission's Right to Read inquiry report. Boards should continue to plan to support those teachers who choose to implement early reading screening.

Screening practices that were in place prior to June 30, 2023, are unaffected by this supplementary direction.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Andrew Davis
Assistant Deputy Minister
Education Labour and Finance Division

Yael Ginsler Assistant Deputy Minister Student Achievement Division

Roxanne Hotte
Assistant Deputy Minister
French-Language Teaching, Learning and Achievement Division

c: Executive Director, Association des conseils scolaires des écoles publiques de l'Ontario (ACÉPO)

Executive Director, Association franco-ontarienne des conseils scolaires catholiques (AFOCSC)

Executive Director, Ontario Catholic School Trustees' Association (OCSTA)

Executive Director, Ontario Public School Boards' Association (OPSBA)

Executive Director, Council of Ontario Directors of Education (CODE)

Executive Director, Conseil ontarien des directions de l'éducation de langue française (CODELF)

Executive Director and Secretary-Treasurer, Association des enseignantes et des enseignants franco-ontariens (AEFO)

General Secretary, Ontario English Catholic Teachers' Association (OECTA)
General Secretary, Elementary Teachers' Federation of Ontario (ETFO)
General Secretary, Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation (OSSTF)
Executive Director and Secretary-Treasurer, Association des directions et directions adjointes des écoles franco-ontariennes (ADFO)
Executive Director, Catholic Principals' Council of Ontario (CPCO)
Executive Director, Ontario Principals' Council (OPC)